The Library Commission has a total of 10 voting members. The membership has the following structure. There are also two non-voting student liaisons.

Number of Members Seat Type Appointed / Elected By Term Years
4 Library Commissioner City Council with Mayor Presiding 3
4 Library Trustee Fletcher Free Library Trustees 3
1 Library Staff Commissioner Fletcher Free Library Staff 1
1 Mayoral Designee Mayor 3


The Commission includes:

Members Seat Term Start Term End
Sally Blanchard-O'Brien Library Commissioner 09/13/2021 06/30/2025
Emily Copeland Library Commissioner  07/01/2021 06/30/2024
Patrick Halladay Library Commissioner 07/01/2021 06/30/2024
Amy Mellencamp Library Commissioner  07/01/2021 06/30/2024
Allie Cashell Library Trustee 01/27/2021 06/30/2024
Chol Dhoor Library Trustee 07/01/2019 06/30/2025
Cate MacLachlan Library Trustee 07/01/2023 06/30/2026
Mona Tolba Library Trustee 07/01/2019 06/30/2025
Melissa Hutson Library Staff Commissioner 11/01/2023 06/30/2024
Jessica Nordhaus Mayoral Designee 03/01/2018 03/01/2024
Grace Maley Student Liaison 07/01/2023 06/30/2024
Vivian Halladay Student Liaison 11/01/2023 06/30/2024


The Library Commission meets on the third Wednesday of every other month at 7:45 am. The public is invited to attend.

Next meetings:

A Special Meeting with the Mayor will be held on Friday, April 19, at 9:30 am. The next regular meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 22, 2024, at 7:45 am.


Burlington Code of Ordinances

Chapter 21, Article 1, Paragraph 43 (Fletcher Free Library)


The Library will be closed on Monday, May 27 for Memorial Day.