Ukulele Melee

Ukulele Mele is a twice-monthly gathering of ukulele enthusiasts from around these parts. We get together and play songs using chord and lyric sheets obtained from the Internet. You don't need to be able to read music to participate (most of us can't!) but it helps to have a ukulele and perhaps a music stand. No prior uke experience is necessary! We make a fair number of mistakes, mostly involving flubbed lyrics, chord misfires, uncertain pitch, and sloppy endings. But we try not to let that deter us from having fun. Come join us!

Date: 
Sunday, November 24, 2019 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Food For Talk Cookbook Book Club:

 

About Food For Talk Bookclub:

Food for Talk is a book club for anyone interested in cooking!  If reading about food, experimenting with new recipes and learning from other cooks sounds fun, then the Food For Talk Cookbook Book Club is for you! Chef Richard Witting has selected some beautifully delectable cookbooks.  Signing up is as easy as 1.2.3....

1. To register, contact Programming Librarian, Barbara Shatara, at bshatara@burlingtonvt.gov

Date: 
Repeats every month on February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December on the second Sunday until Thu Dec 31 2020 except Sun Mar 08 2020, Sun Apr 12 2020.
Sunday, February 9, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, May 10, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, August 9, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, September 13, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, October 11, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, November 8, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday, December 13, 2020 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

POSTPONED - Friday Fundraiser on the Fairway

Have a HOLE lot of fun at our first Library Mini Golf fundraiser!  Play an 18--hole course through the Library!

Friday evening play includes food, drinks and a silent auction.  Age 21+.  Tickets: $25/person.  Until Thursday, April 2, you can reserve your tickets online here. (On Friday, pay at the door.)

More info here!

Date: 
Friday, April 3, 2020 - 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Shape Notes Film Screening: Screaming Queens: The Riot at Compton's Cafeteria

EMMY Award-winning Screaming Queens tells the little-known story of the first known act of collective, violent resistance to the social oppression of queer people in the United States - a 1966 riot in San Francisco's impoverished Tenderloin neighborhood, three years before the famous gay riot at New York's Stonewall Inn.

Date: 
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Intermediate/Advanced ELL Class NOT MEETING

English-language class for intermediate and advanced speakers.  Class covers grammar, vocabulary, idioms and pronounciation.  No registration required.

Date: 
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Census 2020 Tabling

Learn more about working for the Census.

Date: 
Sunday, December 8, 2019 - 12:00pm - 1:30pm

The Library is closed to the public until we are able to reopen.