Film Screening: Africa's Great Civilizations

In this PBS program, Professor Henry Louis Gates, Jr. introduces viewers to the African continent through a series of expansive views and myth-busting revelations. 

Africa's Great Civilizations is a production of Inkwell Films, McGee Media, Kunhardt Films and WETA Washington, D.C., in association with Nutopia Productions.

This is the first in a series of films about Africa and African-American History, called Missing Pages of History: Africa and African-Americans.  

Date: 
Wednesday, February 5, 2020 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

CANCELLED: Ukulele Melee

Ukulele Mele is a twice-monthly gathering of ukulele enthusiasts from around these parts. We get together and play songs using chord and lyric sheets obtained from the Internet. You don't need to be able to read music to participate (most of us can't!) but it helps to have a ukulele and perhaps a music stand. No prior uke experience is necessary! We make a fair number of mistakes, mostly involving flubbed lyrics, chord misfires, uncertain pitch, and sloppy endings. But we try not to let that deter us from having fun. Come join us!

Date: 
Repeats every month on the fourth Sunday until Thu Dec 31 2020 except Sun Feb 23 2020.
Sunday, January 26, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, March 22, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, April 26, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 24, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, June 28, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, July 26, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, August 23, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, September 27, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, October 25, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, November 22, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, December 27, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm

CANCELLED: Ukulele Melee

Ukulele Mele is a twice-monthly gathering of ukulele enthusiasts from around these parts. We get together and play songs using chord and lyric sheets obtained from the Internet. You don't need to be able to read music to participate (most of us can't!) but it helps to have a ukulele and perhaps a music stand. No prior uke experience is necessary! We make a fair number of mistakes, mostly involving flubbed lyrics, chord misfires, uncertain pitch, and sloppy endings. But we try not to let that deter us from having fun. Come join us!

Date: 
Repeats every month on the second Sunday until Thu Dec 31 2020 except Sun Feb 09 2020, Sat Mar 14 2020.
Sunday, January 12, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, April 12, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 10, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, June 14, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, July 12, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, August 9, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, September 13, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, October 11, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, November 8, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Sunday, December 13, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm

ON HIATUS: Poetry Experience

Writing & performance workshops for teens with Rajnii Eddins.  Slam poet, rapper & artistic director for Young Writers Project’s Voices for Change.

First & Third Saturday of every month.

Staff setup: 10 chairs.

Date: 
Repeats every month on the third Saturday until Thu Dec 31 2020.
Saturday, January 18, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, March 21, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, April 18, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, May 16, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, June 20, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, July 18, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, August 15, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, September 19, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, October 17, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, November 21, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, December 19, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm

ON HIATUS: Poetry Experience

Writing & performance workshops for teens with Rajnii Eddins.  Slam poet, rapper & artistic director for Young Writers Project’s Voices for Change.

First & Third Saturday of every month.

Staff setup: 10 chairs.

Date: 
Repeats every month on the first Saturday until Thu Dec 31 2020 except Tue Mar 03 2020.
Saturday, January 4, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, February 1, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, March 7, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, April 4, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, May 2, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, June 6, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, July 4, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, August 1, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, September 5, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, October 3, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, November 7, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, December 5, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Ukulele Melee

Ukulele Mele is a twice-monthly gathering of ukulele enthusiasts from around these parts. We get together and play songs using chord and lyric sheets obtained from the Internet. You don't need to be able to read music to participate (most of us can't!) but it helps to have a ukulele and perhaps a music stand. No prior uke experience is necessary! We make a fair number of mistakes, mostly involving flubbed lyrics, chord misfires, uncertain pitch, and sloppy endings. But we try not to let that deter us from having fun. Come join us!

Date: 
Sunday, January 12, 2020 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm

ON HIATUS: Community Craft Night

Bring your project and enjoy the company of other makers as we stitch, spin, knit, crochet and more at the free weekly event.

Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Thu Dec 31 2020 except Tue Mar 03 2020.
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, February 18, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, March 24, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, June 2, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, June 9, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, June 23, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, June 30, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, July 14, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, July 28, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, August 11, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, August 25, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 8, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, September 29, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, October 27, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 10, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 17, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, November 24, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, December 15, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, December 22, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, December 29, 2020 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

The Library is closed to the public until we are able to reopen.