Armenian Language

Have some Armenian Heritage? Served in Peace Corps in Armenia? Travelling soon to Armenia? Missing Armenia? Join Armenian Conversation Group every Saturday 2-3pm to learn new expressions in Armenian and practice your knowledge of Armenian. Come prepared to sing, dance, test your drama skills, and play silly games in Armenian.

Staff setup: 10 chairs, 2 tables.

Date: 
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Dutch Language - CANCELLED

Will be back again next Saturday, Sept.1!

Date: 
Saturday, August 25, 2018 - 10:00am - 11:30am

Beginner Spanish

¿Te gustaría aprender a hablar español? 

This introductory Spanish class will cover the basics - the alphabet, greetings, some grammar, adjectives and vocabulary. Language sticks best with games, songs, repetition and movement, so the class will incorporate such activities whenever possible. At least one class will involve making and sharing food from Spain, Central or South America.

 

A little about the instructor - 

Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Fri Mar 01 2019 except Tue Feb 12 2019.
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

How to be an Ally & book reading with Sarah Ward

Fletcher Free Library celebrates Pride week!

Join Sarah Ward for a talk on her new young adult novel, Aesop Lake. For more about the author and Aesop Lake, head to sarahwardvt.com.

 

Staff setup: 30 chairs  

Date: 
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Intermediate/Advanced ELL

Staff setup: not needed.

Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Dec 19 2018 except Wed Jul 04 2018, Wed Jul 11 2018, Wed Aug 01 2018, Wed Oct 03 2018, Wed Oct 31 2018, Wed Nov 21 2018, Wed Dec 26 2018.
Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, May 23, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, June 6, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, September 5, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, December 19, 2018 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

In Translation Movie Screening: Theeb

Join us for a screening of the Jordanian film Theeb.
British-Jordanian Director, Naji Abu Nowar’s 2014 film set in the Ottoman province of Hijaz during World War I.  A young Bedouin boy experiences a hastened coming-of-age as he embarks on a perilous desert journey to guide a British officer to his secret destination.

Part of the In Translation series.

Staff setup: see Barbara Shatara.

Date: 
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 6:15pm - 8:00pm

How to Talk To Your Kids... Improving Outcomes for LGBTQ+ Youth

Despite being the first state to legalize gay marriage & having one of the oldest LGBTQ+ youth advocacy organizations in the country, health disparities between Vermont’s LGBTQ+ youth and their heterosexual/cisgendered peers remain.

Join us for pizza, a presentation from Outright VT and a panel discussion to find out how you can support a more inclusive Burlington.

Childcare available upon request: emily@burlingtonpartnership.org

Staff setup: 40 chairs, 2 tables

Date: 
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

In Translation Book Discussion : The Queue by Basma Abdel Aziz (Author), Elisabeth Jaquette (Translator)

Winner of the English PEN Translation Award

In a surreal, but familiar, vision of modern day Egypt, a centralized authority known as ‘the Gate’ has risen to power in the aftermath of the ‘Disgraceful Events,’ a failed popular uprising. Citizens are required to obtain permission from the Gate in order to take care of even the most basic of their daily affairs, yet the Gate never opens, and the queue in front of it grows longer.

Date: 
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Food For Talk Book Club: The New Kosher

Food for Talk is a book club for anyone interested in cooking!  If reading about food, experimenting with new recipes and learning from other cooks sounds fun, then the Food For Talk Cookbook Book Club is for you! Chef Richard Witting has selected some beautifully delectable cookbooks. The first book is The New Kosher by Kim Kushner.  Signing up is as easy as 1.2.3....

1. To register, contact Programming Librarian, Barbara Shatara, at bshatara@burlingtonvt.gov

Date: 
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Ukulele Mele

(“Mele” - Hawaiian word for song)

Join other Burlington-area Ukulele lovers in a group to learn and play the Ukulele together.  Starting with 2-3 chord songs, simple visual prompts will assist in learning 1 or 2 songs together each session.  A wide range of styles and genres are encouraged, from folk and rock ukulele to jazz, improv, multi-instrument duets, ukulele accompanied poetry, and other wild and wacky ukulele acts still to be created.

Ages: Adults and kids 10 and up.  Bring your own Uke.

Meets regularly on the 2nd & 4th Sunday of each month.

Date: 
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 4:00pm - 6:00pm

We are now partially open. Click here for info.

The library will be closed Monday, Aug. 17 for Bennington Battle Day