Spanish Class Online (conversation)

Every Friday, 8am beginner, 12pm Conversation

Live weekly Spanish class by Stella Lillig.  https://www.facebook.com/rosella.spanish/ 

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri May 08 2020.
Friday, April 17, 2020 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Friday, April 24, 2020 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Friday, May 1, 2020 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Friday, May 8, 2020 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Spanish Class Online (beginners)

Every Friday, 8am beginner, 12pm Conversation

Live weekly Spanish class by Stella Lillig.  https://www.facebook.com/rosella.spanish/ 

Date: 
Repeats every week until Fri May 08 2020.
Friday, April 17, 2020 - 8:00am - 9:00am
Friday, April 24, 2020 - 8:00am - 9:00am
Friday, May 1, 2020 - 8:00am - 9:00am
Friday, May 8, 2020 - 8:00am - 9:00am

David Copperfield Book Discussion

Join us every week for David Copperfield virtual book discussions. 

We will meet virtually using Zoom every Tuesday evening at 6:30 PM for the next 13 weeks to discuss one of Charles Dickens’ most loved novels:  David Copperfield. Join us for as many as you can. 

For meeting info: register here or email rthompson@burlingtonvt.gov

Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Jun 30 2020.
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, June 2, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, June 9, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, June 23, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday, June 30, 2020 - 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Poetry Experience Online

Poetry Experience Online

First meeting: April 4, 1pm-3pm

Every Saturday 1-3pm

Poetry Experience is a weekly online writing circle hosted by Poet/Emcee and teaching artist, Rajnii Eddins.  Rajnii Eddins's latest work is Their Names Are Mine.   Join Poetry Experience Online through Zoom each Saturday.  Details are included below and if you have any questions feel free to contact Rajnii at theirnamesaremine@gmail.com 

Suggested Age Group: 14+

Date: 
Repeats every week until Sat Apr 25 2020.
Saturday, April 4, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, April 11, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, April 18, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Saturday, April 25, 2020 - 1:00pm - 3:00pm

FFL Book Discussion Group: An American Sunrise Poems by Joy Harjo

April 8, 6:30pm-8pm

Join other readers at this online discussion on Zoom of Joy Harjo's An American Sunrise: Poems Led by poet Florence McCloud.  To join the program, please email Barbara Shatara at bshatara@burlingtonvt.gov by Wedesday, April 8 at 5pm.

About This Month's Book:

Date: 
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Intermediate/Advanced ELL Class

Every Wednesday, 6:30pm-8pm

Please contact Barbara Shatara at bshatara@burlingtonvt.gov for more information.

Date: 
Repeats every week until Wed Apr 29 2020.
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 - 6:30pm - 8:00pm

First Wednesdays Lecture: How to Love a Country

April 3, 7pm-8:45pm

Richard Blanco reads from his recent poetry collection How to Love a Country, exploring immigration, gun violence, racism, LGBTQ issues, and more, unraveling the fabric of the American narrative in accessible and emotive verses.

https://www.facebook.com/VermontHumanities/

Suggested Age Group: 14+

Date: 
Friday, April 3, 2020 - 7:00pm - 8:45pm

First Wednesdays Lecture: The Genealogy of Happiness: From Aristotle to Positive Psychology

April 2, 7pm-8:45pm

What is happiness? Can it be measured? And what is the relationship between happiness and virtue, money, pleasure, relationships, mindfulness, and satisfaction? This program with William Edelglass will begin with an overview of different conceptions of happiness in Western philosophy, religion, and political theory. We will then turn to the numerous claims about what makes us happy based on the results of “the new science of happiness.” We will conclude by reflecting on the findings of positive psychology in the context of the history of the idea of happiness.

Date: 
Thursday, April 2, 2020 - 7:00pm - 8:45pm

First Wednesdays Lecture: Storytelling for Public Health

April 1, 7pm-8:45pm

Through her award-winning films The Hungry Heart, All of Me, and Coming Home, documentary filmmaker Bess O’Brien reveals stories often hidden in Vermont communities. Bess discusses how documentary storytelling can help generate empathy and positive change in Vermont.

https://www.facebook.com/VermontHumanities/

Suggested Age Group: 14+

Date: 
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 - 7:00pm - 8:45pm

The Library is closed to the public until we are able to reopen.